What Makes a Good Wine? (And my goals to find out!)

Years ago my grandparents had the basement storage unit in their Paris apartment broken into. It was filled only with bottles of wine (as I like to imagine all Parisian storage units are) and the thief stole all of them except for the few less expensive bottles that he or she left in the middle of the room as if to say, “I know good wine”.

But what makes wine “good”?

I know what I consider good glass of wine (and at this point I base that on two very broad things: taste and price), but give that same glass to some of my more discerning friends and family members and I’m sure they’d disagree. I hope to answer this question eventually, but for now it seems wholly subjective. When I have more of a knowledge base and  vocabulary I will better be able to tackle the concept of quality in wines and pinpoint what aspects of a glass make it better or worse.

My goal in the next couple of months is to learn how to intelligently taste a wine, describe its attributes and identify what makes a wine “good”(at least according to the experts). On the weekend of December 1st I will host my own wine tasting for friends to demonstrate what I’ve learned. 

wine in Paris

Bottles of wine at my grandparent’s house

Leave a comment

Filed under Beginner's Guide, What Makes a Good Wine?

Leave a Reply

