Sometimes you just want a beer

Right now my husband is away and without him here to help I can’t quite justify opening the bottle of Rodney Strong Sauvignon Blanc I have in the fridge. I also need a little wine break after the tasting on Saturday. Instead, in the name of open-mindedness in wine tasting, I’m going to attempt to conduct a tasting of my favorite beer in the world, La Fin Du Monde (pun intended). It is a triple golden ale with 9% alcohol. Usually you see it in a huge bottle, but they sell four-packs of regular-sized bottles too. From my brief research, it looks like tasting a beer is similar to tasting a wine, just with very different results. I’m going to stick to my look, smell, taste formula.

Fin Du Monde

Look:
Very light golden. No legs (oh right, it’s beer… kind of weird to think that wine is thicker than beer, but that’s kind of true, right?). Very carbonated. It has a thin “head” when poured.

Smell:
Lemony, really not very beer-like.

Taste:
Slightly bitter, strong. Oddly heavy and light at the same time. It is complex, with a slightly spicy taste. It is refreshing but a little yeasty which is interesting.

dinnerBeer and pasta with scallops! Can’t go wrong.

Conclusion:
It’s amazing how different tasting beer is. It’s harder for me, but maybe because I am not in practice. A lot of tasting has to do with learning the vocabulary and the different tastes. If you say to someone, “tell me what you taste?” it’s a lot easier to identify if you give options.

1 Comment

Filed under Random, Today's Tastings

One response to “Sometimes you just want a beer

  1. I thought legs went out of fashion as a wine measurement with the last millennium? Tasting a beer is the same process as a wine. A lot of the vocab is even similar. It’s always putting the vocab into practical application that’s the hard part. The solution? Practice, practice, practice! I know, rough work!

Leave a Reply

